FLSTSSN

Resources for STSSN Workshop Participants

Florida Sea Turtle Stranding and Salvage Network

General Information

Staff within the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission's Fish and Wildlife Research Institute coordinate the Florida Sea Turtle Stranding and Salvage Network (FLSTSSN), which is responsible for gathering data on stranded sea turtles found in Florida. The FLSTSSN also rescues sick or injured sea turtles and transports them to rehabilitation facilities. More information on the FLSTSSN can be found on the FWRI website. For updated summaries of sea turtle strandings in Florida, visit our data summary website.




Workshop Schedule

We will be hosting our annual Stranding Workshop trainings online this year! It is a new adventure for all of us as we explore the world of online training. Come join your favorite stranding coordinators via Microsoft Teams to learn about the new stranding form, how to respond to strandings, species identification and more! The workshop should last about 1.5-2 hours and will be available on the dates listed below! Please email Corey Lloyd to RSVP your spot for this inaugural training event!

Workshop Dates

When emailing Corey, please include the following:

Statewide

We typically hold a workshop during the annual Florida Marine Turtle Permit Holder Meeting. Please monitor this site for updates and visit the Florida Marine Turtle Permit Holder Meeting website for more information about the FMTPHM. The regional workshop schedule for 2020 will be announced soon.

Southeast Florida

There are currently no workshops scheduled for this region. Please monitor this site for updates or contact Florida STSSN staff with questions regarding upcoming workshops.

Northeast Florida

There are currently no workshops scheduled for this region. Please monitor this site for updates or contact Florida STSSN staff with questions regarding upcoming workshops.

Florida Keys

There are currently no workshops scheduled for this region. Please monitor this site for updates or contact Florida STSSN staff with questions regarding upcoming workshops.

Northwest Florida

There are currently no workshops scheduled for this region. Please monitor this site for updates or contact Florida STSSN staff with questions regarding upcoming workshops.

Southwest Florida

There are currently no workshops scheduled for this region. Please monitor this site for updates or contact Florida STSSN staff with questions regarding upcoming workshops.



Materials for Sea Turtle Stranding Responders


Keep copies of these forms and instructional documents in your stranding response kits.



Previous Workshops

Statewide

Friday, 2 February 2018
21st Annual Florida Marine Turtle Permit Holder Meeting
St. Augustine

Southeast Florida

Tuesday, 26 March 2019
Harbor Branch Oceanographic Institute
Fort Pierce
Thursday, 11 April 2019
Loggerhead Marinelife Center
Juno Beach
Monday, 12 March 2018
Nova Southeastern University Oceanographic Center
Dania Beach
Wednesday, 18 April 2018
Loggerhead Marinelife Center
Juno Beach
Tuesday, 24 April 2018
Harbor Branch Oceanographic Institute
Fort Pierce

Northeast Florida

Friday, 15 March 2019
Barrier Island Center
Melbourne Beach
Monday, 25 March 2019
Marine Discovery Center
New Smyrna Beach
Wednesday, 3 April 2019
Canaveral Port Authority at Port Canaveral
Cape Canaveral
Wednesday, 24 April 2019
Guana Tolomato Matanzas National Estuarine Research Reserve
Ponte Vedra Beach
Sunday, 28 April 2019
The Ribault Club
Jacksonville
Tuesday, 30 April 2019
The Whitney Laboratory for Marine Bioscience
St. Augustine
Wednesday, 21 March 2018
Barrier Island Center
Melbourne Beach
Thursday, 22 March 2018
Marine Discovery Center
New Smyrna Beach/dd>
Thursday, 12 April 2018
Ribault Clubhouse
Jacksonville
Wednesday, 25 April 2018
Whitney Laboratory
St. Augustine
Thursday, 3 May 2018
Guana Tolomato Matanzas National Estuarine Research Reserve
Ponte Vedra Beach

Florida Keys

Thursday, 10 April 2018 at
Eco Discovery Center
Key West
Thursday, 17 April 2018
State of Florida Regional Center
Marathon

Northwest Florida

Sunday, 10 March 2019
Navarre Beach Sea Turtle Center
Navarre
Tuesday, 12 March 2019
Gulf World
Panama City Beach
Friday, 27 April 2018
Apalachicola National Estuarine Research Reserve
Eastpoint
Saturday, 28 April 2018
Gulf Specimen Marine Laboratory
Panacea
Monday, 7 May 2018
Gulf Coast State College
Panama City
Tuesday, 15 May 2018
Topsail Hill State Park
Santa Rosa Beach, FL 32459
Tuesday, 22 May 2018
Navarre Beach Sea Turtle Conservation Center
Navarre Beach, FL 32566

Southwest Florida

Monday, 29 April 2019
Charlotte County Environmental Building
Port Charlotte
Tuesday, 30 April 2019
North Collier Regional Park
Naples
Wednesday, 1 May 2019
Clearwater Marine Aquarium
Clearwater
Thursday, 2 May 2019
The Florida Aquarium
Tampa
Tuesday, 24 April 2018
North Collier Regional Park
Naples
Wednesday, 25 April 2018
Charlotte County Environmental Building
Port Charlotte
Wednesday, 25 April 2018
Florida Fish and Wildlife Research Institute
St. Petersburg
Thursday, 26 April 2018
Mote Marine Lab
Sarasota, Florida